Hateration, TV, Roseanne Cash, 2x

I was in an apt with a TV in it today. Being as I don’t own one this was a bit of a departure for me, but I will admit that when I do watch, I get sucked in. Hours passed by as The Tyra Banks Show, faded into The View, followed by Desperate Housewives and finally Boys on the Side. By the time I left at 4pm, I felt more than slightly ashamed about my “wasted day,” but here’s what I learned:

The word of the day is Hateration: A combination of admiration and hate, as in hating, as in ‘Don’t hate.’ (I had heard this word used before in songs, but honestly didn’t know what it meant until Tyra provided the proper definition) When you admire someone and most likely envy them, you hate on them as an expression of your insecurity.

Hateration: Don’t do it.

I also learned that Woopi Goldberg, co-host of The View claims not to be gay, nevertheless fiercely defends the rights of gay people, including that of marriage. This is the same Woopi, who ‘played gay for pay’ in Boys on the Side. Interesting. Oh god, I forgot that I also watched Zoolander. No wonder my brain resembles soft candy ahora… Alright looks like I didn’t learn that much from TV after all.

Hopefully the night will redeem me, I am going to go see Acoustic Cash, a sort of live talk show format, that centers around Roseanne Cash. She will interview Joe Henry, and I reckon they will also play songs together.  We’ll see.

Plus, the Brooklyn Socialite is so committed to being a full-on Arbiter of Taste, that I will now commit to posting 2 times every day and am going to start rolling out more new writers, so head’s up! yay x

Leave a Reply

