Vote, Shirley Chisholm, Party

Well Kids, this is the big day. Pretend you live in a swing state, that there is no such thing as the electoral college and that our past elections haven’t been so corrupt that congresswomen had to request the intervention of UN observers and just ROCK that VOTE. No, cynicism aside, I’m excited and nervous all at the same time. What will happen? Will I need to flee the country, again? No, yeah I have a lease, I’m sticking come hell or high water. Brooklyn 4EVA!

So how will we bring in this heaven or hailstorm? There are a few particular plans that I have my eye set on. I will definitely be at Stranger than Fiction, my Tuesday night local, to watch Chisholm72 and celebrate Shirley Chisholm, Black Brooklyn Congresswoman’s, 1972 bid for the presidency. Obama’s fore-mother deserves her propers.

chisholm3252

After the film, I think I will hit up the Activate election party at Tom and Jerrry’s. It will be a good chance to share drinks with my Flavorpill peops and other new media intelligentsia, ok drunken post-academics (Free Dewars from 6-8), call them what you will. The main idea is that, I reckon it will be nice to bring in the sea change ( I hope), or cry over the same old sh*t in the presence of a leftist, brawl-ready- socialite crew. See you there!

Leave a Reply

