Unappreciated?

Do you ever get the feeling that people are wildly underestimating you? They say things like, “Well, if you really wanted it, you would…” or “Well, you’re young, you have have plenty of time to make money, you don’t need it now.” This is when the incredulity sets in, “Do you have any idea who I am?” you want to scream, ” Do you have even half a notion of what I’ve done to get to this place in my life?” Officially you have more heart, more chutzpah, and more integrity then some people carry attached to their keyrings, “but I digress“(To quote one blogger who is in the habit of quoting me)… By now you have mentally jumped upon a table top and started demanding, back taxes, lost invoices, belated birthday presents and every other manner of substance that you now realize you are rightfully owed. In appearance, your body may be still quite contained behind your just slightly rolling eyes and your calm, controlled voice- in truth, you are raging. The diatribe is getting juicier, ex-partners are invoked, broken dishes that your roommates never claimed responsibility for, that diet that sabotaged you, the exercise that you no longer have time for. You are starting a movement here, look around and notice that others are also standing on their tables and chairs. Not visible to the untrained eye, but I see them. I am glad that I found my kin group, and we are beginning the departure…follow me! shhhh, don’t stop to think, just follow, or lead, whatever, just come.

Send me your best undervalued rant: Brooklynsocialite@yahoo.com

Possible topics include: 1.Who wants to be Paris Hilton anyway. 2. Why I’m a superstar (to myself) 3. A funny thing happened on the way to today and 4. Why canceled vaycay’s suck on top of everything else.

And now for a quick recap of Making Do the Right Thing. After seeing it for the second time, I noticed that Spike Lee was super fashionable in the late 80’s. Where can I get me a pair of yellow and green leggings, with green mini-shorts on top. Men were really comfortable with taking fashion forward back then. Pretty hot. I also loved the part where Melvin Van Peebles tells the crowd that refuses to quiet down and give him his propers, ” I didn’t get to where i am by being a choir boy, now shut up.” He’s on that table with us. He’s coming!

Melvin Van Peebles

Melvin Van Peebles

Leave a Reply

