Supper, Channeling

Just finished editing the busy events of Friday night, and happy to realize that Saturday was by far a quieter evening. I just have to recap the cool film screening and after party that I attended and the great dinner at Supper which preceded it.

I keep being drawn back to that restaurant, It reminds me of Tiamo, this great Italian spot in the Italian district of Melbourne, which I used to frequent. Going there offers me a little taste of my home away from home, tied up between piping hot homemade pasta, gorgonzola polenta, and decadent procioutto mellons. Sorry vegans. Which brings me to the next event of the evening.

I had to try to pull off vegan chic among talented experimental filmmakers, artists, DJs and friends. The screening at ABC No Rio, (moved from Le Petit Versailles), was charming, subtle, at times hysterical, at others confusing, but overall thought provoking and bold. It is always good to see queer stories, which ponder identity, earthliness and disco. Check out the work of Elliot Montague and Michael Robinson on youtube maybe or in your local radical lending library.

The afterparty was a refreshing amount of fun. After most of the crowd at Heather’s cleared, what remained was a friendly crew, Aurthur Russell and other disco/hip hop/pop and house beer guzzling queertabulousness.

Leave a Reply

