Nights and Weekends, Mixx, Secret Faggot

“I don’t respond to sarcastic fun!.” was my favorite line in Nights and Weekends, it captured the eerie gray area that relationships enter after a certain amount of time. In this is a zone, 2 people know each other well, but not well enough to avoid trampling over each others sensitivities. Perfectly capturing that awkward intimacy, Nights and Weekends somehow delivers. True, it appears low budget, the camera work is simple and the scenes are shot almost exclusively in the same 2-3 apartments. Still, it feels like one long conversation, the kind which I have had with my best friends. It addresses the conflict over having babies, being in relationship, being alone fiercely, being lonely, and ultimately falling in love with someone, and feeling kind of out of control about it. This film is a useful meditation on autonomy and what it means to give that up. Check the trailer.

Now a brief shot out to the Mix 21 Queer Experimental Film Festival. I went last night and especially enjoyed a film called In Formation by Za Martohardjono. If you missed it last night Za will have more films screening tonight, so go see for yourself. There are several other good programs being offered, including a cool video art installation. More info here

Finally I ended the night at Glasslands for the Secret Faggot party. Wow, I had no idea that that space was so vaudeville. It did feel squat homey though, and the makeshift bar was even endearing. I guess I was just waiting for the DJ section to begin, and it didn’t until 1:30, by then I was longing for my pillow. Beauty sleep right?

Leave a Reply

