Lit Death Match Recap- to start

OK friends I have so many things that I want to recap right now, but my popcorn just beeped in the microwave and the DVD player is waiting. I rented Itty Bitty Titty Committee so that I could find out what all the fuss last night was about. Got to go watch and get back to you.

On to the Literary Death Match, presented by Opium magazine. Well I was going to write a little summary, but when I went back to review my notes, just seconds ago, I realized that they may be better in all their unabridged glory. Courtesy of my new iphone (we’ll talk about that soon) Here they are:

Lincoln Michel
Spit talked and was boring.
Ben Greenman said that be confuses animals and people.He likes airplane catalogs and “long bills”. Kurt says, “tuck in your shirt!”, no eye contact, spoke too fast, this guy Kurt Bodden is funny
Jodi bullock says, “don’t make word definition mistakes.”

Katherine Taylor
Not so funny and yet published in the Times, blonde, I don’t like the way she reads ‘dumb woman style’
“How you know you are a cliché”
Lit merit: greenman says style is hard to pull off but she kinda pulled it off and felt like jokes on Brooklyn writers. “There will be no bad sandwich in your memory”. Kurt; second person imperative voice. Spoonerism… Jodi says Chablis pronunciation, good story. Fear of umbrellas.

Lit matches in Europe
Baby voice

Dennis Diclaudio
Tic tac up the butt story w/therapist
Story is better than reading style
Lots of whiny bratty writer shit
Tic tac is cover for whiny shit.

Thaddeous Rutkowski
Great, funny. Good performer. Vonnegut said respect your audience. He has it memorized and wins. “ceremonial head dress” he says he wants one.

Wow, raw observations are scathing, “I apologize, in advance.” Meanness sucks, really.

The next post will cover Cookshop, and Itty Titty the night and film. Oh and the NU YU spa which by the way rocks!

2 Responses to “Lit Death Match Recap- to start”

  1. thanks for your comment on my reading at the opium death match. makes me feel better.

  2. thebrooklynsocialite Says:

    No Problem, you were great! What other events do you have coming up?

Leave a Reply

