More on Orwell- I Heart Brooklyn Girls Party

Since I’m on this Orwell tip lately, I thought I’d share an excerpt from and link to his essay on writing called, “Why I Write”

From a very early age, perhaps the age of five or six, I knew that when I grew up I should be a writer. Between the ages of about seventeen and twenty-four I tried to abandon this idea, but I did so with the consciousness that I was outraging my true nature and that sooner or later I should have to settle down and write books. more

Books online are amazing! More to come tonight I promise….and for all the Queers in the house, check out the I heart Calendar Girls Party tonight at southpaw….the whole neighborhood will be there. Here’s a snippet of my Go write-up about it:

I Heart Brooklyn Girls and GO Magazine have teamed up for the exciting launch of the Brooklyn Girls 2009 Women at Work calendar. Famous for depicting real-bodied voluptuous queer femmes who call Brooklyn home, this year’s calendar effectively realizes its reference to 1940s and ‘50s Bettie Page style pin-up girls. It focuses on campy professions; all the ladies are dressed in carefully selected vintage attire and are shot in an ironic work environment. There is the “Baking Beauty,” the “Stitching Sweetie” and “Chemist Queenie” about to measure her beakers, but my favorite is obviously the “Literary Lady.” It’s about time that writers were hailed as sex icons! more

I’ll be sure to review it afterwards x

One Response to “More on Orwell- I Heart Brooklyn Girls Party”

  1. […] TheBrooklynSocialite Culture Comment above the Choice Cacophony « More on Orwell- I Heart Brooklyn Girls Party […]

Leave a Reply

