The Same Man-George Orwell & Evelyn Waugh, Brideshead Revsited

Well Folks, I have been busy (!) riding the subway from Beautiful Brooklyn to Hot Mess Midtown, and during all of that time, I have been reading. My latest conquest is The Same Man: George Orwell and Evelyn Waugh by David Lebedoff. Again, despite the fact that the premise is damn near preposterous, (hello? What do these two writers really have in common?), it’s a pretty decent read.

Yes Lebedoff, they were born in the same year, of the upper middle class, Orwell went to Eton and Waugh went to Oxford, but come on! Orwell was an ingenious political visionary and fab writer, who lived barely above the poverty line for most of his adult life. He volunteered as a foreign soldier among the Anarchist-Syndicalists during the Spanish Civil War. Waugh was a self-made aristocrat, Catholic, heavy drinking womanizer, who once dined with Mussolini- a talented writer nonetheless.

Anyway, this brings me to the GIVEAWAY!! I have stated these opinions boldly and will no doubt reiterate some in my review of this book for Bookslut (be on the lookout), yet to be really fair, I have read almost every book that Orwell ever published and can not say the same for Waugh. In order to judge him fairly, I invite you my reader to read his classic novel Brideshead Revisited alongside of me and then to comment widely about your impressions. In fact I have 2 copies to give away to the 2 readers who correctly answer my trivia question. Then after you read it, I will happily post your reactions on the BS!

The question is: What is Goeorge Orwell’s real name? What did he do for 5 years after finishing high School and what incident involving a cane, did he learn something important from?

Tip: a key to finding the answer is included in this post!

Email answers and your mailing address to: carpetbaggerk@gmail.com

5 Responses to “The Same Man-George Orwell & Evelyn Waugh, Brideshead Revsited”

  1. Great idea! I want to do it! But I’m guessing I’m not allowed since I’m already a Brooklyn Socialite participant. 🙂 I haven’t read Brideshead Revisited either. It’s been recommended about a million times and has always been on my reading list, but somehow I haven’t managed to get around to it. (The movie was awful…not that that has any bearing on the quality of the book however.)

  2. thebrooklynsocialite Says:

    Hey Angie! You can’t participate in the giveaway, but you can be part of the book club. I will be reading a copy too so we can all discuss it when we’re finished!

  3. Didn’t think so. But I’ll definitely read it with you guys!

  4. […] point is that now I have a lot to say. First of all the answers to the Trivia question and winners of Brideshead Revisited are Shannon and Angie- yes it was a sad showing of competitors […]

  5. […] Angie on Relationship Therapy, Courtesy of Evelyn Waugh Faitful to her book club duties, Agent Angie provides astute observations on Brideshead […]

Leave a Reply

